Dolly Parton


QueerFem(me)inist reminds me that Dolly gets it. I’ll let the lady speak for herself:

“Well, I always wanted to have pretty clothes, pretty things, and I read every book, every magazine I could see and I really patterned my look–it was a country girl’s idea of glamour–after what they call the town tramp.”

There was this lady–you know they have them everywhere, in a mountain town, a country town, there are always a few loose women–but this woman I thought was beautiful… She had this beautiful peroxide hair and had it piled on her head, red nails, high heel shoes, and I just thought she was the prettiest thing I’d ever seen. And mama said, “Oh she ain’t nothin’ but trash.” So, I thought, “That’s what I wanna be mama, I wanna be trash!”

“I describe my look as a blend of mother goose, cinderella, and the local hooker.”

“I hope people realize that there is a brain underneath the hair and a heart underneath the boobs.”

“I’m not offended by dumb blonde jokes because I know that I’m not dumb. I also know I’m not blonde.”

“You’d be surprised how much it costs to look this cheap!”


