sigh …whatevs…

Oscar Wilde On…

Infidelity:
The people who love only once in their lives are really the shallow people. What they call their loyalty, and their fidelity, I call either the lethargy of custom or their lack of imagination. Faithfulness is to the emotional life what consistency is to the life of the intellect – simply a confession of failure.

A positive outlook:
The basis of optimism is sheer terror.

Lifestyle:
To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable.

Education:
Education is an admirable thing. But it is well to remember from time to time that nothing that is worth knowing can be taught.

Fashion:
If I am occasionally a little over-dressed, I make up for it by being immensely over-educated.

And, after all, what is a fashion? From the artistic point of view, it is usually a form of ugliness so intolerable that we have to alter it every six months.

Conversation:
I love talking about nothing, father. It is the only thing I know anything about.

The United States:
America is the only country that went from barbarism to decadence without civilization in between.

Age:
I am not young enough to know everything.

Legacy:
I’ll be a poet, a writer, a dramatist. Somehow or other, I’ll be famous, and if not famous, I’ll be notorious.

Work Ethic:
Hard work is simply the refuge of people who have nothing whatever to do.

Beauty:
And beauty is a form of genius — is higher, indeed, than genius, as it needs no explanation. It is of the great facts of the world, like sunlight, or spring-time, or the reflection in dark waters of that silver shell we call the moon. It cannot be questioned. It has its divine right of sovereignty. It makes princes of those who have it.

